A new EU leadership, which will set the priorities of the future Commission and Parliament until 2024, is taking shape. Commission President-Elect, Ursula von der Leyen, will assume office on 1st November. Her political priorities in a potential post-Brexit EU include: Europe’s first ever Climate Law to enshrine its target of being the world’s first climate-neutral continent by 2050; legislation for a coordinated EU approach on the human and ethical implications of AI; fair taxation; reform of WTO trade rules and a new comprehensive rule of law mechanism.

During July, the newly-elected Members of the European Parliament agreed the political groups and their leaders. David Maria Sassoli was voted in as Parliament President. Key committee chairs and vice chairs were also appointed. These include Ms Lucy Nethsingha (Renew Europe, UK) as Chair of the legal affairs committee (JURI) and Mr Juan Fernando López Aguilar (Socialist, Spain) as Chair of the civil liberties committee (LIBE).

For more information, please contact the secretariat here.